Poker Portal Asia

Amit Varma in Pole Position at APPT Cebu Final Table

Amit VarmaAmit Varma

The Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Cebu Main Event got down to its business end today as 28 players returned to the Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino and went to war until the final table nine had been decided. After the chips had settled, it was India’s Amit Varma who carried over his domination of the tournament since Day 2 to emerge yet again as the undisputed chip leader.

Varma amassed a 1,241,000 stack and following him is fellow countryman and well-known Indian player Sameer Rattonsey on 908,000 and Hoang Anh Do on 810,000. The rest of the final table chip stacks sit with much less than the top three runners but, as with any final table, anything can happen tomorrow.

One player who won’t be there is Bobby Zhang, who had just cause to curse the poker gods on his way to the rail in 11th place. It happened when Zhang got his money in good with A A on a flop of 6 4 9 against Varma’s 10 9. After Varma made a crying call, the 9 spiked on the turn and the river blanked out to cruelly end Zhang’s tournament life just shy of the big money.

The most exciting hand of the day came on the final table bubble when Jacky Wang three-bet shoved from the big blind over the top of Antoine Amourette’s button raise. Wang held J J but was snapped off by his opponent with a dominating Q Q. The flop of 9 3 10 looked safe for Amourette as Wang got up to leave, but the turn 8 handed Wang more outs to the straight and the river Q was most certainly one of them. Amourette tripped up in every sense of the expression, yet survived the encounter to go into the final table as a major short stack.

Here’s how the rest of the final table seats will look when they convene at 12.10pm tomorrow to chase down the PHP 5,927,000 (USD $140,000) APPT Cebu title:

Seat 1: Antoine Amourette (United Kingdom) 50,000
Seat 2: Sameer Rattonsey (India) 908,000
Seat 3: Alistair Duff (Australia) 486,000
Seat 4: Nicholas Wong (Hong Kong) 142,000
Seat 5: Jacky Wang (Australia) 402,000
Seat 6: Hoang Anh Do (Vietnam) 810,000
Seat 7: Michael Kanaan (Australia) 399,000
Seat 8: Jae Kyung Sim (Korea) 205,000
Seat 9: Amit Varma (India) 1,241,000

Those players who didn’t make the cut today included Julian Hasse (26th place, PHP 153,510), Kitty Kuo (23rd place, PHP 175,500), Antonio Martins (22nd place, PHP 175,500), Sammy Huang (16th place, PHP 274,500), Vic de Guzman (15th place, PHP 274,500) and Carter Gill (13th place, PHP 274,500).

Latest Featured Articles

APT Starts 2013 with APT Asian Series Cebu
After a historic year, the Asian Poker Tour (APT) looks to start off 2013 with the APT Asian Series Cebu. The eight-day event is scheduled from January 23rd to the 30th in ... Read More

Razavi 3rd at WPT China, Caps off Great Year
Another major tournament, another excellent finish from the Englishman. Sam Razavi, from the United Kingdom capped off 2012 with a 2nd runner-up finish at the inaugural World Poker Tour (WPT) China which ... Read More

APT India Ends APT Season with a Bang
The Asian Poker Tour (APT) season is about to close but with the APT India 2012 as its final event for the year, it feels like just a new beginning because of ... Read More

Ha Duong Wins APT Asian Series Cambodia
After 4 days of poker action, Vietnam's Ha Duong wins the first APT Asian Series Cambodia main event defeating Jan-Eric Schwippert of Germany. Read More

APT Asian Series Cambodia’s Final 8
The APT Asian Series Cambodia, the first major international event staged in Cambodia, has now reached its main event final table. Ha Doung from Vietnam, Day 2 chip leader, remained consistent and ... Read More

49 Players Reach Day 2 of APT Asian Series Cambodia
From a starting field of 122 players for APT’s inaugural main event in Cambodia, just 49 have won through to today’s Day 2 of the event. Read More

APT Asian Series Cambodia Gets Underway!
The first-ever Asian Poker Tour (APT) Asian Series Cambodia kicks off today at the Las Vegas Sun Hotel and Casino, Svay Rieng, Cambodia. Read More